terewmama.blogg.se

Family tree maker 2014 into gramps
Family tree maker 2014 into gramps













  1. #FAMILY TREE MAKER 2014 INTO GRAMPS FULL#
  2. #FAMILY TREE MAKER 2014 INTO GRAMPS SOFTWARE#
  3. #FAMILY TREE MAKER 2014 INTO GRAMPS FREE#

I downloaded Gramps 4.2.2 on the strength of reviews. It istays in the program, and is useless like that. That is proof that the developers have mind problems.īiggest Pro: Can handle thousands of individualsīiggest Con: You cannot recover in Reports every single information associated to each individual. What am I going to do now?īy the way, version 4.5 is the worst nightmare to work with> Compared to 3.3, the v.4.5 maybe latter also are a set back. You guys who developed this software, have a so short sight. How can I recover (rescue) in a whimp ALL the information of each of 15 thousand people? Did I spend 7 years accumulating information just to find that I cannot print it in a “Report’? This is the worst point in GRAMPS that I very much hate and despise.

#FAMILY TREE MAKER 2014 INTO GRAMPS FULL#

The BIG BUT is that when I want a report, a FULL REPORT OF EVRYTHING that I know, it is IMPOSSIBLE. Surprise, I need to tinker, for example, using Atributes to add such information. I ahve also added notes for many of them. For each individual, I have gathered lots of informations about their actiI knowvities, places of residence, people with which he or she interacted, participated in such and such ceremonies. However, I feel that Reports of people are the weak point of GRAMPS. Never felt to need other functions than those available in that version. I have been using GRAMPS 3.3 for about 7 years to now. You need to practise first and explore the software.

#FAMILY TREE MAKER 2014 INTO GRAMPS FREE#

The ability to create web pages of your family tree is absolutely amazing…īiggest Pro: Feature rich and free (but why not donate a bit to help out?)īiggest Con: Getting started info is over-complicated. I found it best for me if I ‘added’ People first, Father Mother Children, and then created their ‘family ‘ using the family tab and selecting from the People data already entered.Ī tip for Media: collect your photos, pdf’s etc you want to use into a unique folder on your computer. In order to get to grips with it I started from scratch with just a few of my own relatives to test it out.

#FAMILY TREE MAKER 2014 INTO GRAMPS SOFTWARE#

We moved his data via GEDCOM files to Gramps, partly as a backup in case his OS failed or the the software became incompatible with future versions of Windows. He was using an old version of Family Tree Maker. I have been helping a friend research his family tree one day a week for about 5 years now. I have been using Gramps (properly) for a couple of years now. If it’s a particular report you feel the need for Attributes, why not ask the developers? So, unless Alex has ‘hidden’ Attributes that won’t display or wants these to appear in some other report that does not have those options I would deem that an unfair rant to make. I disagree that data placed in Attributes is missing from reports for a Detailed Ancestral Report you need to tick the box in the reports dialogue on the tab marked ‘Include’ (where you can also include Notes, Photos, Alternative names, Events, Addresses, Sources and Sources Notes). Wasn’t going to write a review (and I know this is not a Forum) but, having read Alex’s rant about report content, I felt obliged to reply.















Family tree maker 2014 into gramps